Advice on rollers

Road cycling & upcoming rides
jonboy

Postby jonboy » 24 Jun 2013, 11:42

Cycling brethren,

This wet weather is getting me down. I eschew wet weather cycling on the grounds of safety (and laziness). I’m going to start porking on weight soon if I don’t get some exercise.

I’ve never tried rollers before but I’m thinking that it might be a good idea to buy some, especially if I start doing some (more serious) time trialling.

I’m looking for your advice please:

Question 1: Rollers or Turbo/Gel trainer?
On the grounds of convenience and tyre wear I’m thinking rollers are preferable to a turbo/gel /mag trainer?

Question 2: Does anyone have rollers that they simply never use and want to sell them?

Question 3: If no to Q2, advice on selection of model

I already own an Elite workstand which is beautiful quality. I’m thinking about these rollers from my friends at Wiggle:

http://www.wiggle.com/elite-ghibli-parabolic-rollers/

Any caveats/ brand selection tips here?

All advice is gratefully received.

John

timyone

Postby timyone » 24 Jun 2013, 11:53

They look well priced to me. The advantage of a trainer can be adding resistance to your ride. It turns out only to be a problem for a track bike for the most part, as you can go up gears on a road bike to some extent.

JoTheBuilder

Postby JoTheBuilder » 24 Jun 2013, 12:11

My vote is rollers. More fun and teach you bike control.

One thing would be to look at weight of the rollers themselves. I bought a cheap set but they are so heavy it's difficult to move them and I don't bother taking them to RAW.

Also, apparently ones with plastic rollers generate static electricity and you get an electric shock when you touch something metal.

I don't know too much about brands etc. sorry. Mine were $99 on sale from Torpedo 7.

utopia

Postby utopia » 24 Jun 2013, 12:20

Here's one rollers+resistance+Elite quality option.
Grab a labcoat and look at the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZfLMLbepQlA